Showing in halter

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grace67

Reaction score
Having owned minis and shown a little for the past year I think I'd really like to try my hand at showing in halter at the breed level (we have more AMHA shows than AMHR in my area). I have two geldings, both experienced and successful show horses with their former owners who excel in driving and performance events but neither is what I would call a "halter" horse in terms of conformation and movement. I'm still very new to the world of minis and not really clear on what it takes to own and show a successful halter horse. Looking at more of the local/regional level, not even close to national level and might never be at that level.

How do I begin this new journey? Do I need to be with a trainer? Do you leave your horse with the trainer or is it possible to keep a horse conditioned and fit at home? I prefer geldings, do you find an already seasoned halter gelding and how long can a horse be competitive in halter? I wouldn't want to limit a horse just to a particular class but I'd like to find a horse who might be somewhat competitive in halter and then move on to some of the performance classes.

Thanks for any thoughts and advice!

Have you tried showing halter at the local level? That may be one way to start if you are already showing. If its a more laid back show you could ask to speak with the judges and get their opinion of what could be fixed with your horses.