Roadster versus Open movement

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

k9mini2

Reaction score
I saw some very nice photos on another post regarding a couple of different trot for pleasure versus country pleasure. IT made me think about the roadsters versus the open horses.

I saw a horse that showed in the regionals who was shown in both. I thought it took a totally different horse to do roadster versus Open. Can someone show me the difference and explain what it takes to be in roadster versus open?

I absolutely love roadster class to watch and have often thought that someday I might enjoy having a roadster horse.

I'm no expert at all (having driven only country pleasure at this point) but it seems to me that in roadster you're just asking the horse to move differently. They need that same scopey movement and lift to the shoulder to be able to really extend and reach for an animated and fast road gait. Not that you can actually tell the difference between the road gait and the others in many of those classes, but hey....
default_unsure.png
:

I'm not saying that a country horse couldn't do it, just that the difference between roadster and pleasure is more in the way you drive them than in the kind of horse you're asking to do it. Country and single pleasure are supposed to be different kinds of movers entirely. And there are horses in both categories who are more suited to roadster than others.

Clear as mud?
default_wacko.png
:
default_rolleyes.gif
:

Leia

A road horse has THREE distinct transitions in their trot. The jog, the working trot and then your all out drive on. A lot of people put their horses in roadster but the horse does not do the distinct transition. Once you have seen the transitions you will understand. Linda B