Question about squaring up?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DixieGirl89

Reaction score
So Spirit will square up his front legs like a pro! But his back legs are a different story. Like most of you know I'm new to this stuff, so I need a little help here. How do I get him to square up his back legs? He usually is either really off, or his back legs are touching each other and he won't separate them. In this pic his front legs look great but the back legs...not so much.

20130403_113642_zpse3b26ce3.jpg

Can't help you on the training issues, but to help with the diet issue we need more information.

How old is he? How tall? Current weight? Current feed program (what and how much)?

Oh, and he's very cute.

There is some information on setting up for halter that I wrote for 4-Hers on our website (link below) in the 4-H section. I think it is called "Showing at halter". One thing I found is that is is much easier to set up a horse who has correct leg conformation than it is one with an issue such as cow hocks. When a horse with correct leg conformation (my experience anyway) moves a foot or is not set up quite square it is not a major problem - it just looks like a foot is out of place. When a horse with less than ideal leg conformation moves a foot, any flaws can be exposed. You also need to make sure there is weight on each foot which you can do by shifting weight with the lead or your hand.