pushing on teeth

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alexb.

Reaction score
Hello, thanks for every ones time and effort.

Just got our daughter an 11 year old amha stallion. Very well trained for carts, etc.

I'm just learning every thing, my wife had a horse 40 years ago for a short time.

The horse has an over bite were the front lowers have ground in the outside front top in. We just noticed he stands at the steel coral fencing and licks his teeth then puts the top outside face of the top teeth onto the round horizontal pipe and then pushes in hard for a second or 2. If i Had to guess how hard I would say about 40 pounds of pressure. I noticed him doing this for ten minutes before I had to go,but will watch more tommarow.

Does any one have a guess why he might be doing this, besides teeth pain relief?

Thanks for your time

Alex

You're sure he's not "windsucking?" A disorder where they kind of grab a fence rail and tense their neck up making an odd noise. Might look into this disorder and see if this is not what he's doing. If so, it's a terrible habbit that most do not break and many times teach horses stalled with or near them to do it as well.

I am not positive, but it does sound like he is cribbing, sometimes called windsucking. Horses that do this do make a habit out of it and it can cause problems. Your mini could colic from it. They sell cribbing straps that help control the problem. If you have other horses that are around him they could also start cribbing, they pick up the habit.

I would also check with a horse dentist, have his teeth checked to make sure he is comfortable. Is he eating ok?

Hope this helps