Pony Questions

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

3bays

Reaction score
Im new to ponies and have been reading everyones posts and learning quite a bit. I have a couple questions. I notice that many of you are clipping your ponies. Is this just for show purposes or is it something I need to do to my little guy? I dont intend to show him, but he does have a very very thick coat and although he is shedding, will he get that nice slick coat if I dont clip him and let him shed naturally?

Also, in looking at photos here, I see alot of ponies turned out in grassy areas. I have been keeping my guy off the grass per my vet but am wondering how much grass if any can he safely have? He is overweight and a bit cresty, having blood work to see is he is IR as soon as spring shots are done.

If your pony is an easy keeper and overweight then it may be a good idea to take your vet's advice & keep him off grass. Here our ponies (and the Minis as well) get a grass/alfalfa mix hay. Some bales have more alfalfa, others have more grass--and they pretty much get all they can eat. They do get pasture as well, but our pastures here aren't real good--we don't have a lot of land & it's very sandy soil, so grass is never real lush. The past 6 weeks our Mini mares (and one Shetland) have been on self feed. Some of them walked over the fence into the hay yard so I opened the gate & let the others out there too--they've been eating free choice off the round bales and saves me the work of feeding that group. I've been kicking myself for not putting some of the bales out in the gelding pasture, so I wouldn't have to feed them either! I will say that none of the mares are over fat--most are just in nice shape--so they are not overeating on this self feed method.