pleasure show driving question

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tatonkas Dream

Reaction score
I am new to driving and new to minis but am wondering is it in the rule book for AMHR that you can not use breeching or is it just that no one chooses to?

I am green, my horse is green and while I won’t be showing in a driving class in the near future I keep thinking it would be safer to have breeching the first few times. As from what I’ve learned breaching is basically your brakes helps keep one from bucking.

Thanks

Christina

I don't know about AMHR but in AMHA i'm pretty sure its just that no one chooses to. I don't really know why.

Breeching doesn't prevent bucking but it is the most efficient, comfortable means of braking and is indeed a very good idea at all times. Breeching is allowed in AMHR but not popular because it is considered "more leather covering the horse."
default_wacko.png
I used it for a season but got tired of sticking out like a sore thumb so I took it off when I got a light show cart. The show ring is the ONLY place I don't use breeching, the rest of the time it's a permanent part of my harness. If I ever have a driven obstacle class in deep footing it will go right back on for the duration of that class so my horse can back the cart comfortably. It's a heck of a lot better than having him rearing from discomfort and frustration!
default_new_shocked.gif

Leia

There are no rules in AMHA against using breeching and I don't believe there are in AMHR either. I have used it in Country Pleasure on occasion and always in Antique Vehicle with the Dr Buggy.

Don't know why it is traditionally not used in the driving classes other than "just because". Possibly because some harnesses do not come with it and no one wants to buy it extra. You certainly can use it and won't be penalized.

It is always used with teams.