Pelleted Bedding

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cherokee Rose

Reaction score
After using shavings for several years..I have just started using the pellets and so far I'm liking them. Does anyone else use them and like them.... or can there be some problems with them. They sure are alot easier for storing and carrying...please share your thoughts...........Carrie

I am a huge fan of Woody Pet/ Equine Fresh. I have been using it for several years and have no problems. It is easier to clean, less dust and smells way better.

I will say I do not use it for new foals.

Also add just a touch of shavings in the winter. I think it makes for a better warm bedding, but the horses may not care.

I've been using the pellets for several years and love them - much less odor and easier cleanup. Through trial and error, I've decided what works best for me is to put the pellets down first, and then add about a quarter of a bag of shavings over them. Softens the bedding a little and keeps it from being so slippery until the pellets start to break down. I do not wet them as a rule, except sometimes in the summer when it gets so hot and dusty here.

Jan

I LOVE LOVE LOVE pelleted bedding. I have tried probably every different kind of bedding known to horse-dom, and can't believe it took me so long to come to this. It's like cleaning a giant litter box and the stalls are so clean, all the way to the mats. The pee spots are even easy to pick up.