Our New Driving Horse Jack

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KellyAlaska

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

We finally got a chance to meet our new horse Jack and he is awesome! We got him the Comfy fit harness and it seems to fit him well. Please take a look at the photo and let me know if you see anything on the harness that needs to be adjusted. This was my first time driving and he was wonderful. We can't wait to finally get him to Alaska!

Kelly

gallery_36437_144_39580.jpg

Wow! he's nice! You look great together. I'm far from an expert, the only thing I can see is the breeching needs to come up a little in the back. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong!

You guys look freakin' fabulous!! That's possibly the best "first drive" photo I've ever seen.
default_yes.gif
default_aktion033.gif
The horse moves beautifully, you've got great posture, the harness is pretty well-fitted and the cart is adjusted fairly well given that it's a little on the small side for him. I know the ComfyFit harness usually has the two hip straps crossed in the middle but I personally am not fond of that arrangement and usually switch mine to going straight through the two slots on the backstrap so there is a front hip strap and a rear hip strap. They used to sell them that way and I find for me it's easier to make fine adjustments using that configuration. I'd like to see you take up the rear of the breeching by one notch and let the front down by the same in hopes that it will hang more levelly when he's moving. Wrapping your breeching holdback straps or tightening them a little may also help if that won't make the breeching too tight.

Great job! I'm so happy to finally see pictures of your boy. He's an impressive horse and should do very well in CDE someday.

Leia

Last edited by a moderator: