Ok Tell me about ducks

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

capall beag

Reaction score
York Beach, Maine originally from Ireland!
I am curious about ducks.

We are hoping to get chicks this year BUT I cannot keep a rooster, becuase the neighbours will be unimpressed
default_rolleyes.gif
:

So I was considering ducks because I don't think a drake would be loud?

My concern with the chicks is that I want to order some unusual breeds and most are not sexed prior to arrival so I may pay for and end up with a bunch of roosters I can't keep.

Can you use duck eggs much like hen eggs? Don't think I have ever tried a duck egg?

Any info on this appreciated .........It is probably very obvious that I have little knowledge about ducks
default_wink.png
:

I have and raise Call Ducks. They are the "miniature" of the domesticated ducks. Fairly small, easy to keep and fun to watch as they waddle around the property. Only thing about ducks is that they are somewhat messier than chicks and stinkier. The food/mash when it gets wet for the ducklings definitely gives off a peculiar odor that I liken it to an almost "fishy" kind of smell. Water...they need plenty of water, not only to drink but to play around in and keep themselves clean and preened. Clean water is a must. Here I clean our water containers once or twice a day. Depending on which breed you get you may want to trim at least one wing so that they cannot take off in flight. Call Ducks are very good fliers and altho I sometimes monitor their wing growth, they do fly around the farm but always come back to their coop...their little "haven". They're let out of their coop almost daily and get to graze in the grass and forage around.