Noxious Weeds

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JennyB

overo
Reaction score
How do you handle your weeds? Do you use spray or goats or do you hand pick or all of these things?

I have Leafy Spurge and Black Henbane in our hay field. I have been hand picking it, but over the years I am loosing ground. Our hay is 50% grass and 50% Alfalfa.

I would like to know what these two plants are like after they have been cut and baled? How poisonous are these plants after they dry? I worry if they are not, when the seeds go thru their systems they will send up more plants in the future
default_no.gif

Anyway give your feedback

Thanks,

Jenny

Really can't help but I feel your pain. I've been battling Paterson's Curse for the 8 years I've been here. I spray every year and sometimes twice and chip as well and am getting the upper hand but will never be free of it. It's my long term obsession.

Don't know if dried and baled retains its poisonous properties but do know that any seeds will certainly pass through the horses and spread more weeds.

Do you know how long the seed stays viable in the soil? In my case the seeds of the Paterson's Curse stay in the soil for about 10 years so some of the seeds that fall this year will still be coming up in 10 years so eradication is a long term project.

Some weeds have seeds that only come up the next year. If yours is one of them then a spray will do the job and your problem will be almost over.

Good luck.

Last edited by a moderator:
Jenny,