New Mini Mommy

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mickey & Mouse

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to mini's but I do have riding horses. I have a little man who is about 7 months who I have wormed two times as per my vet and he still has cowpatty poops. He does try and suckle his little stall mate who was weaned at the same time. They both had worms and bot fly larvea when they came to my home. I just don't know what else could be causing the mucky behind? He was getting a lot better after I wormed him the first time but then last Friday it started again so I wormed him as per vet and it has helped a bit but it still isn't great. He gets good hay which is about a 60/40 alfalfa mix as well as 60-40-10 grain mix. I have tried the powered probiotic as well peptobismol. I am just at a loss. I have had them for one month now and have managed to put some weight on them as well as they were very underweight. I have no problems with his little friend only with him.

His little back legs were also not working properly as he was almost rolling with them but I did get a barefoot trimmer out and it was a miracle as now he is walking perfect.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you

Tammy

You don't say how much grain you are giving, but there is a possibility that if these guys were very underweight - you might be trying to pump too much high-quality food into them too fast and their mal-nourished gutts aren't able to handle it yet. Personally, I found my horses did better once they got VERY little alfalfa - it's too hot and tends to give them the squirts. I much prefer Bermuda or orchard grass, especially for minis (I used to have AQHA horses too). JMO

Sounds like you are trying to be a very good "new mom" and these guys are lucky to have found someone who cares!!