Need some pointers

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HorseMom

Reaction score
After much consideration I have decided to find a horse that is better suited for what I want to do. I love Jay to death and he would do wonderfully at breed shows, but I much prefer CDEs. He just doesn't seem to enjoy those. There are many more reasons too.

What should I look for in a horse when I start shopping?

Last edited by a moderator:
I am not an expert in this at all (never having entered a CDE myself) but I am a student of the sport, as they say. A trainer told me that the most important thing to look for in a driving horse (for CDE) is TEMPERAMENT. If you know what it is about Jay that makes him unsuitable for CDE I would think you were one step ahead. In minis, I think size should also be considered, although clearly that is not an issue with horses.

Anyway, my advice would be to look for a horse that has already competed in CDEs. I sent you a PM.

There is an article I wrote on selecting a horse for driving on my website that you might want to read but a quick synopsis: While I agree that temperament is the first and foremost requirement you aren't necessarily looking for a calm, quiet deadhead for driving CDE's competitively. I look for a horse with a sensible, intelligent mind whose reaction is to stop and look rather than bolt, one that thinks for himself yet takes guidance willingly and listens. A horse that is eager to work is the most enjoyable. You want one that is well built with good bone and an athletic body. The rear end is most important physically as that is where the motor is - look for a horse with a good strongly built motor, all the right angles and well muscled. The most successful horses I have trained for CDE are soft and willing from the start rather than stiff and unyielding.