Mounting Issues

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhea

Reaction score
I've been working with this pony for two months, and had this brilliant idea to ask people about his one (large) problem on here, maybe someone will have ideas that I other people I've asked don't...

He is an awesome little pony, and once he's under saddle and moving there's nothing wrong in him, the biggest problem is mounting. At home he'll stand without moving a foot for mounting, but in new situations such as shows, he has some issues. He is totally fine until I'm all the way up, and sometimes waits until I ask him to move or something, then he has a "pony fit" (ie: He rears, bucks, crowhops, etc) He stops eventually at his own leisure, and after that he won't put a foot wrong, even any mounting again afterwards. I don't really mind it that much as my old pony put me through enough stuff, but he is for sale and I don't feel safe selling him as a "broke" pony with this problem.

As for some history, he was a driving pony, so he wasn't at all "pampered"... he was trained for saddle by a woman with lots of experience who has been around forever. We brought him home and I got on him the day after, he pulled his little stunt, but he never did it again at home so I assumed that it was a one time thing. But now we've realized that it's the first mount in every new situation. (Added: Sorry for the crazy run on sentence )

For what I've previously tried:

Walking him around for a while with tack on before getting on to make sure it's all positioned correctly (However, doesn't seem to be a problem with tack, because I can get off him and get on him again and he's fine, or change saddles and get on him and he's fine)

I ALWAYS make sure that he's paying attention to me before I mount, so I don't startle him.