Market For Miniatures??

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minishowgirl

Reaction score
I was looking to get a two or three year old mini with little or no training to train over the winter and sell. Over the winter id work with it get it doing showmanship, obstacle, jumping, and starting driving. When show season came around id take it to a couple shows and offer it for sale. My question is is the market for miniatures good enough for this?? Am I going to have trouble selling a mini with good training and show experience if it doesnt have good breeding?? I want to train horses for a living and want to start with minis. I have trained my gelding who has done very good in shows as a five year old. I have also been training my yearling and she is doing great and already has show experience.

There are far too many variables for me to speculate. Generally... A trained mini won't sell for much more than a trained one... A national show record will help but it's expensive to do so and that is why.

Don't expect to sell quickly or for any more than you bought the horse. Just do it for fun. And then if you happen to find a buyer willing to pay, consider yourself lucky.

I would expect to make a little more because I would pay more for a trained mini than an untrained mini but thats just me. Is there more of a market for mares, geldings, or stallions??