mares bagging up?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D W 2

Reaction score
just wondering how many peoples mares foal before they are bagged up? is it common? what would you use instead to tell that they are ready?

just wondering how many peoples mares foal before they are bagged up? is it common? what would you use instead to tell that they are ready?
Yes, find it very common.. Have had many mares foal with out bagging up till after giving birth.
default_wacko.png

They just never read the book on foaling, the other sign is the dropping and V shape.

Restlessness, with these sneaky mares or maiden need a camera.

Last edited by a moderator:
I've been breeding miniature horses since 1989, 5 - 10 foals per year, and I've never had a mare foal that didn't have an udder. Unless I had one abort, all have had udder development before foaling. I've had an occasional one didn't develop as much udder as I expected, but they did have udder development.

I would really like to see pictures of those mares and their udders that aren't bagged up before foaling as I've never seen that happen.

Sorry Becky do not have any photos but my Dicetta last year no udder at all, looked like a maiden mare, and we had to give her Oxytocin to bring in her milk.

I have only had 7 foals so I am not very experienced but all my mares have bagged up from as much as a month before. Which is why I am getting a cam, no more months wasted sleeping in the barn. yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

I just got a cam as well. Now to figure it all out
default_smile.png
good luck. I hope to be having 4 babies.