Lost a mare this morning...

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tami

Reaction score
My mare was fine at feeding time last night and down at feeding time this morning. My vet had idea's and we tried several things but she went down hill and died this morning at 10:30. So anyway, she left behind a 2.5 month old filly. I could bring her in and put her in a stall or...I can leave her with the herd. She is the only baby out there right now. But she has always eaten pellets and hay with all of the mares (they all let her except for one mare), not just her dam. I thought it might be best, less stress for her to just leave her there, but I am just not sure....I have never done this before. I have never been in this situation before. We watched her tonight and she ate her pellets right up, then went and ate with another mare. Just checked on her and she was eating hay with yet another mare. So if it were you, would you leave her where she seems to be doing well or separate her?

Tami I am so sorry for your loss.

I personally would leave her where she is if she is getting along fine I think in the next day or two someone will not only accept her hanging out with them but become protective of her as well

I'm so sorry that you lost your mare. As for the baby, I think I would leave her with the herd. She would certainly be less lonesome there. And since you don't have any other lactating mares, she would not try to nurse them and get herself hurt.

Rita

Tami,

A breeders worst nightmare!! I am so sorry for your loss.

I too would recommend just leaving her with the mares. Do you have other foals? I would start letting the other foals in with the group so that she becomes friends with them. As she gets a bit older, the mares will not tolerate her eating their food. But once she is friends with the other foals, she can then be kept with them.