long lines length ?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CCC

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm Getting a lady to make me a head stall and some matching long lines for ground driving my minis with and was wondering what length would be good.. I am new to all this, I've never even ground driven the big horses, so I have no idea what length would be nice.. just long enough , but not so long that my hands are all tied up in lines :p

thanks for any advice!

should I invest in a surcingle?

also would just a snaffle bit be best? or do I need a driving bit?

If you're new to long-lining, find someone who's good at it to mentor you. It can be very confusing without a little help and quite easy to get tangled up in 18' of lines!
default_new_shocked.gif

Yes, you'll need a surcingle for any type of long-lining or ground-driving work. You can use your harness saddle but I prefer not to as I don't want rub marks on my nice saddle and it doesn't have as much adjustability as a surcingle does for where to run the lines.

You don't need a driving-specific bit but a broken-mouth snaffle may not be your best choice either. Look for a French Link bit and something that has either half or full-cheeks to help prevent the bit from sliding though the horse's mouth although really, anything your horse goes well in will work.

I'd recommend checking out Clay Maier's videos on long-lining for some tips and tricks as they're quite useful.

Leia

Great, thank you very much for the info! I'll check out the videos

I do have a friend that is going to come up and give me some pointers and teach me how to ground drive, thank goodness, cause I'm sure I need lots of help!
default_smile.png

Is there a good place I can buy a surcingle online? are they pretty adjustable for most minis? I have a fairly small mini and a fairly big mini as well that I'd love to use it with.