Inform me: Horse Slaughter

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marty

Reaction score
The new farrier said that there was a law passed long time ago and no horses can go to slaughter in the US. Have I been under my rock too long?

I asked him then why are the "meat men" still hoovering at the auctions and why is there still a "killer" line???

He said they all just get shipped out of the country and are killed on the ships?

HUH?

What is up with this, anyone know the real deal on this?

That's sure not what I've heard or read, Marty. I wonder where he got that from?

From what I understand there is still two slaughter houses in the US. I think one is in DeKalb (spelling?) Illinois and I can't remember where the other one is.

Fran

I have NO direct knowledge of this, but am pretty darn sure that horses are not, and would not, be being slaughtered while aboard ships!

Perhaps it's a reference to horses being sent out of the US for slaughter-I *think*that's still a reality(?). Aren't there places in Canada? Mexico? Think the law may refer to slaughter FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION, which is not allowed, by law, within the US borders?

I read in a magazine, dont remember which one it was though
sad.gif
that as of this month there would be no slaughter of horses allowed in the US for human consumtion. It also mention that there would be a voluntary fee for each race in the thoroughbred races to go towards rescues, programs etc for the overflow of horses. It is still possible I am sure for horses to still be bought in the US and as someone said sent to Mexico to be slaughtered.