How long does it take for a sedative to wear off?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Technicolor Pony

Reaction score
Good morning,

Our 12 year old mini stallion had to have his teeth floated yesterday, and the vet I believe gave him ACE. Now I am aware that his mouth is very sore/tender this morning, but I noticed he is still not quite himself. How long does it take for the sedative to completely wear off, or is he just off because of a sore mouth? He is nibbling at his food some, a few nibbles of grass occassionally, and drinking water, but that's about it. He had some pretty good hooks going on in there. If it is just a sore mouth, is there anything I can give him to make him more comfortable?

Thanks for reading!

Chris

I am not an expert on this at all, so perhaps someone else will jump on. But I did have the vet here Monday doing some teeth and he used a sedative on one of them. The mini was back to himself by the time the vet left an hour or so later. I am not positive what sedative he used but I don't think it was ACE. It just calmed him down so he could be worked on. He is 6 and his teeth weren't that bad. Hope your mini recovers soon. If I were you I would call the vet and see what they say.

Call your vet if you are still concerned about him - sedative from yesterday should be long gone. It's more likely that his mouth is sore if he had extensive work done and if that's the case, your vet may suggest something for pain.

Jan

When we've had to sedate, the drug usually wears off in an hour or so. The last time we sedated one was when little Secret hurt her eye last year--the vet gave her a pretty good dose--had her real wobbly on her feet anyway--and within an hour she was pretty much back to normal.