Horse show ettiquite(sp)?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tifflunn

Reaction score
Being a newbie to the show scene- I would like to here some of the please do's and please don'ts. I am asking because I had this plan in my head to use a rubber duckie it a confirmation class to get my horses attention- I know it is now a big No No- but I would have probablly had given a really bad impression to fellow show people - which is not what I would like. So can we have some please do and please don'ts

Thanks Tiffany :bgrin

I know im not as experienced as others in this forum and im just a beginner as well but i find that working on obedience with my mini has payed off. I see a lot of minis showing their owners up by playing about and i don't want to be big headed but im very proud of how my mini acts. You came to the right place its nice to hear from you. Good luck

The best rule to follow with whatever you use in the ring is to be discreet. You really don't want to interfere with the other exhibitors' attempts to show their horses to their best, nor do you want the judges to be annoyed by what you are doing.

My pet peeve is when other handlers use Tic Tacs to bait their horses. All you hear is SHAKE, SHAKE, SHAKE from their posckets as they trot their horses. The in the line up while I'm trying to keep my horse's attention, you hear that unmistakeable sound of the Tic Tac container being furiously shaken in the horse's face. ARGH!!! The horse will eventually get bored with the noise and tune you out anyway. So whatever you use, limit its use only to when you abslutely need to get the horse's attention. you'll have much better results.