Helmet saved his life

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

justagirl

Reaction score
Hello LB family .

I don't post much here anymore , but I felt this was REALLY important for those who let their children drive.

Some of you already know the story I am going to tell you , because you have left your thoughts and prayers on my FB page.

Last Sunday I hitched a horse up that I've been driving for 2 years now . My youngest son (10) wanted to partake in the fun , so he ran inside to fetch his helmet and off we went !!

We drove for some time without incident . The gelding was very quiet , the wind was calm, the weather was warm, and the dogs were put up , so I thought I would let Logan drive solo .

We have a large yard ,and do all our driving on trails and in the yard and the yard is where my nightmare came true right before my eyes .

I told Logan just to let the horse walk , no trotting and he made a couple laps without any problem .

As he approached the edge of our yard, near the woods [something] scared the horse and he bolted , full speed back to the barn , only before he reached the barn he managed to launch Logan from the cart and into a tree. His upper body including his head took a full blow !! I ran as fast as I could to him , the entire time he was not moving, I thought my baby was dead .

I called the ambulance and he was transported to the local childrens ER and was diagnosed with a fractured skull and a broken nose , not to mention the multiple lesions and bruises . His face and head took the hardest hit and his face was swollen and bloody .

Even with the helmet he had life threatening injuries .

I am certain that Gods hand was on my son that day , because he is getting better and will have no long term problems from his injuries .