halter or perfomance?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ponyluva97

Reaction score
I have this miniature horse, but im not an expert on what to look for so i am not sure if it is worth showing him in halter or just keep him in performance. he is 2 years old palomino miniature horse. Please tell me if you think he is good enough to keep showing in halter (honest opinions please)

many thanks
default_smile.png

http://tinypic.com/r/2ch4bpc/6

http://tinypic.com/r/28gqs88/6

http://tinypic.com/r/244big1/6

I'm trying to pop his pictures in here for you
default_yes.gif

2ch4bpc.jpg

28gqs88.jpg

244big1.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
If I wanted to show him, and since he is 2yo now, I'd try to work with him on showmanship and halter obstacle. Plus, he might do very well in color class
default_yes.gif

When he's 3yo and older, he might do well in the jumping and driving classes
default_smile.png

thanks for that, i have shown him in colour classes but he has placed last everytime because the judges think he is 'too washed out'

Also, if i wanted to keep showing him in halter, does he have the correct conformation?
default_smile.png

thanks again

Where do you plan to show him in halter?

I don't feel he's place high in registry shows in halter, however, at open shows, he may. His conformation, as far as I can tell from the pictures, is not full of faults, but his "type" is not what is winning at registry shows. His body doesn't have a smooth flow to it (looks "choppy") and mostly, his neck is not physically made so that it sits high enough on his chest. His head is a little bit long as well. The horses that are placing well in registry shows all have high set, thin and archy necks as well as short heads. But, OPEN shows may be different and he might do very well in halter there against other miniatures and full size horses.