DNA Color Results Back on Spirit

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
S

StarRidgeAcres

I think this is the news I was hoping for, but I'm far from a color expert, so someone please use really small words and explain to me.
default_laugh.png

So, I was hoping that Spirit was in fact a perlino and not a cremello and I was hoping for no silver and for a high percentage of buckskin foals out of all the red mares I have. So, did I get what I wanted?

[SIZE=10pt]
animalgenetics_logo.gif
[/SIZE]

1336 Timberlane Road

Tallahassee, FL 32312

[SIZE=12pt]Test Results[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]Name:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]Parmela Bonney[/SIZE][SIZE=10pt]Account#:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]104090[/SIZE][SIZE=10pt]Business:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]Star Ridge Acres Miniature Horse Farm[/SIZE][SIZE=10pt]Email:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt][email protected][/SIZE][SIZE=10pt]Date Received:[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]8/21/2008[/SIZE][SIZE=10pt][/size][/SIZE][SIZE=10pt]Horse Name[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]Breed[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]Red Factor[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]Agouti[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]Silver[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]Ten Ls Spirits Afterglow[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]Miniature Horse[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]EE[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]AA[/SIZE]
[SIZE=10pt]nn[/SIZE]

[SIZE=10pt]Result Guide:[/SIZE]

[SIZE=10pt]Red Factor[/SIZE]
[SIZE=8pt]ee[/SIZE]
[SIZE=8pt]Only the red factor detected. The horse tested homozygous for red pigment. The basic color is chestnut or sorrel, but depending on genes at other color loci, the horse could be red dun, palomino, cremello, gray or white.[/SIZE][SIZE=8pt]Ee[/SIZE]
[SIZE=8pt]Both black and red factors detected. The horse tested heterozygous for the red factor. It can transmit either E or e to its offspring. The basic color of the horse will be black, bay or brown, but depending on genes at other color loci, the horse may be buckskin, zebra dun, grullo, perlino, gray, or white.[/SIZE][SIZE=8pt]EE[/SIZE]