Diet for Stallions

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wendyluvsminis

Reaction score
I have two stallions that are both quite portly. The newest, Smoochie, looks like he will foal with the mares. I also have a coming 2 year old colt that is getting porky, and I would like to get them both down to an appropriate weight.

Can I start a diet for them in the winter? I thought they needed extra hay for warmth. Is it ok to put the young one on a diet too? Should I give them the same amount? The pinto stallion, a driver, is 35 inches and the appy is almost 30 inches

buddies.jpg
WindyAcres20193.jpg

Thank you, Wendy

Hi Wendy!

I am very new to this, but I will share what advice I was offered and what worked for me. I did get a lot of different opinions, some said to cut my mare's grain completely out, and others said they never would, so I just reduced it drastically. And I did so very slowly, over a few weeks. It took about 2 weeks for me to start seeing a difference.

I believe it is very cold where you are (?), so I don't know if cutting back on the hay is a good idea during the winter.

What and how much are you feeding?

How much and what are they currently getting? It's important to weight their feed. I wouldn't cut back hay but you may think about taking away the grain especially if they are getting very little of it. Just be sure to give them a mineral block. With the one being a 2 year old you may want to find a Alfalfa/mix hay if you decide to cut back on grain.

Oh yeah, I did forget to mention the mineral block! I just bought each of mine a 50 pound block for only $5 each at Tractor Supply

They are getting 1-2 flakes of alfalfa blend hay twice a day, depending on how cold it is. And 2 lbs of Safe Choice grain, twice a day.
default_smile.png