Cresty or Heavy Mane?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

poniesrule

Reaction score
I have made no attempt to hide that I am new with the mini's, and this one has me stumped! I have had a cresty full size horse before, but he was way overweight. This is my 3 year old gelding, gelded as an early 2 year old.

I hadn't noticed this until after the dog attack... He dropped about 10-15 lbs after the incident but has about gained it back. It's been around 4 weeks since then. I know that dropping weight too fast can lead to this situation, maybe that's it? I've been searching all of the crest related posts here, but most of what I have found relates to overweight horses. This guy is about 31" and 175lbs, I would say in good condition, a little weak in the topline, but we had a month off. Diet related maybe? He's getting alfalfa pellets, beet pulp, and purina mini horse/pony. I have it written down at the barn how much he gets a day, I'll check that and update later as well as full on body shots (as long as you promise not to judge his haircut! ha!). My vet helped me put together his rations. I don't know much about IR or anything like that, and my research is confusing me...

The other thought is maybe his mane is just that stinking heavy? I would have killed for a mane like this on my reining horse, but now I just want to hack it all off! Yes, I am trying to let it grow out. I'm not wanting to show in halter, more driving or just for pleasure. Not a big fan of looooong bridle paths.

Also, in reference to whether or not it is hereditary? I can tell you some of his pedigree, not that I know anything about most of them. Top side: Triple K Cinsi's American Legend 2 by Triple K's Im Cinsational Too out of BTU Shezas A Dandy. Bottom side: LM Idols Snapshot of Success by First Knights Billy Idol out of Flying W Blue Boys Picture Perfect.