colt castration?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tamarack

Reaction score
This is my first time posting and I have a question about what age to castrate a colt? He has been bity since the hour he was born, is this normal? He is also very head/ear shy and all I do is love him. Any suggestions? Thank you

Tamarack

As long as he's dropped, he can be gelded. Some geld as young as a few months old, others wait til spring of yearling year.

As long as his testicles are dropped, he can be castrated as young as a few WEEKS old.

As for his head and ear shyness........Keep loving on him. Hold him gentley, but firmly and massage his ears and head. Always end things on a positive note -- in other words, as soon as he relaxes and allows you to pet him where you want for even a few seconds, let him go.

If he fights you and you let him get away with it, he will learn that if he argues with you enough, he'll get his way!

MA