Buying a piece of land

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Winchester Farms

Reaction score
I've lived in my apartment for a while and I'm trying to save up for a house, but I can not afford anything with a farm established already, so I came up with the idea of buying a piece of land with nothing on it with a couple acres, that I can start to pay off while I still live in my apartment and eventually build from there. I know having electric, sewer systems and well water is important, but when I meet with realtors what kind of questions should I ask? What is important to take notice of? What should I avoid? I don't want something big, just a couple acres I can put a small house and tiny barn on. I'm totally new at this, so sorry for my ingorance. :DOH! Thank you for your time!!!!

I would ask... what it is zoned? Was the land perk tested? Are there any restrictions on the property? Can it be built on and horses allowed? Is there a sewer system in the plans for the area? Are there any easements on the land? Is public water available or will you have to put in a well?