Bad Trim, Short Feet

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm glad your mare is doing better. Her feet looked horrible. I hope you didn't pay a whole lot to the other guy cause thats insane. I wonder if the other farrier just could not do minis? Some farriers can make really good big horse farriers but competely rush thru mini feet. Still there is no reason for it.

Get a new farrier or learn to trim yourself. At first I thought maybe he went overboard on a mustang roll (rounding off edges) but it just looks really unbalanced and poorly done overall!

After seeing those pics I would NEVER have guessed the person responsible would seriously consider themselves a "farrier." That is worse than I could do and I've NEVER tried it before. God, I love my farrier. Wow.

Sure hope your mare continues to show improvement and can recover from this horrible trim job.
no.gif
There is just no excuse - bad day, whatever. This is a poor horse that needs her feet to LIVE for heaven's sake. Hugs to you and your mare.

Check out Pete Ramey's site on hoof care.

I would recommend the dilute lysol spray for those feet. Will help toughen the feet and get rid of bacteria. It really helps those black cracking lines the horses get on the sole.

If you can at all put your horse in a dry paddock with 4-6 inches of pea gravel you will get the soles to be not bulged out like that, they will rise off the ground and be healthy and the pea gravel will take care of the frogs without trimming them. I find it great for bringing the hooves back to the natural healthy state they should be in.