ASPR and NSPPR Heights

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ckmini

Reaction score
Just for clarification (I keep seeing this Hackney mare for sale in my area that I really don't need, I think she's too tall, but broke to ride and drive, kid safe on the ground, just not under saddle/harness, so I'm asking anyway
default_doh.gif
): ASPR ponies must have 1 shetland or 1 hackney parent and must measure under 48" WITH shoes?

Also for the NSPPR do the same parentage rules apply? (or does one parent HAVE to be shetland?)

**edited to change height to 48" (not sure where the 54" number came from)

Last edited by a moderator:
I am no expert but in my understanding ASPR can be Hackney, Shetland or Hackney x Shetland.

With NSPR at least one parent has to be registered with ASPC or AMHR and the offspring whois going to be registered will need to be DNA'd. Beginning this year the parent of the offspring just need to be on the stallion report or the breeder's certificate. (Please correct me if Iam wrong)

I am not sure about the height but I think that ASPR has to be under 48" and NSPR can be up to 14 hh tall.

NSPPR ponies can be up to 14.2 and must have one parent that is ASPC or AMHR registered.

ASPR has a maximum height of 48". They can be Shetland, Hackney, or a cross of Shetland x Hackney, Hackney x Show Pony, Shetland x Show Pony or Show Pony x Show Pony...I think I covered them all??

ASPR ponies must have 1 shetland or 1 hackney parent and must measure under 48" WITH shoes? -

As Holly said

ASPR

Shetland X Hackney (48" with shoes)

Hackney X Hackney (48" with shoes)

Shetland X Shetland (48" with shoes)

ASPR X ASPR (48" with shoes)

NSPPR

14. 2 and under

One parent must be ASPC or AMHR, the other parent is the cross, including grades.