AOTE Classes in AMHA

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Keri

Reaction score
I'm just getting into showing AMHA. I've toyed with it on and off for a few years, but plan to hit some bigger shows this year. My question is on the AOTE classes. Someone told me I had to nominate my horse at the beginning of the year in order to show in these classes. But I was just on the AMHA site and I can't find a form like this. Can someone point me in the right direction or straighten me out???
default_wacko.png

I just called AMHA and spoke to someone regarding that as I had herd this rumor once before. Melody(from the show committe) is not in, but the two people that I spoke to never heard of it either.

It would be rather dumb to require that as most of us have no idea at this point what horses we are going to show, especially those of us who live in a very cold climate. Our weanlings that just became yearlings, are just to hairy to know for sure who we are going to show.

There is a rule that anyone showing AOTE must have the horses they plan on showing in their name or leased to them by December 31st.

There is no form to designate your horse AOTE. The horse is designated AOTE when it enters its first AOTE class of the year. Here is what the rule book says.

d. A horse will be declared an AOTE horse when it enters its first AOTE class of the calendar year. Prior to

being declared, the AOTE horse must abide by the AOTE rules starting on January 1st. The AOTE horse

must be shown under the AOTE guidelines for one calendar year starting on January 1st regardless of the

class entered (including open division classes).

There is an AOTE OPT-OUT form if you sell the horse during the year or put the horse with a trainer.

Last edited by a moderator: