'09 filly and a color question

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BopNDoc

Reaction score
Here is a photo of my one and only '09 foal. She was born @ approx. 12:45am on 7/4. Her dam is a smokey black and sire is b/w pinto. Last year's foal from this same cross was a super super loud palomino pinto colt w/2 blue eyes! Does 'Sparkles' appear just black to you all? Her muzzle and the base tail hairs are silver. The hair tufts in her ears are a creamy color.....what do you guys think?

She appears to have one dark blue eye also.

Regardless of lack of white....we LOVE her!!!!

So meet 'Sparkles'

DSCN2268.JPG

I'm no color expert but I think Sparkles is a beauty
default_smile.png
Congrats!

default_new_shocked.gif
I don't know if it is the way the light is reflecting in this pic or what but does she have silver marbling throughout her coat? She looks to be a silver black or smokey black! Congratulations on Sparkles...she is gorgeous!!!!
default_yes.gif

default_new_shocked.gif
I don't know if it is the way the light is reflecting in this pic or what but does she have silver marbling throughout her coat? She looks to be a silver black or smokey black! Congratulations on Sparkles...she is gorgeous!!!!
default_yes.gif
yes,she has silver hairs all thru her coat also....but just today did I notice the tufts of silver tail hairs growing out....so this means sire or dam carries the silver gene? Thanks for the compliment, she's a keeper!

No, if she had the silver gene she would have a lighter mane and tail. Her silver hairs probably are due to the cream gene for smoky black.