Yearlings "over" by AMHA rules

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Have you had a yearling that was "over" by AMHA standards of 32" but stayed under 34&

• yes but only once

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • yes multiple times

• no

• Total voters

sedeh

Reaction score
I've never done a poll before and I'm not sure if I did it right or not. :DOH! What I'm interested in is how many have had yearlings that are "over" by AMHA standards for showing but remained under 34" as an adult? I show Pinto and I have had 4 yearlings now that I wouldn't have been able to show AMHA because they grew very fast their first year and were over 32". In Pinto it's no problem because "they're not over till they're over 34" . I know Charlotte expressed comments about showing against these "tall" yearlings and 2 year-olds at the Pinto World show and not knowing if they'll really end up being "A" minis in the end. I can tell you that 3 of the yearlings I've shown in Pinto that were over 32" basically hit their full height as yearlings....none of them have gone over 34" at maturity.

Yes, lots.........actually have had a 31" 3.5 month weanling, 33.5" yearling, stay at just a hair little under 34" (and that little under 34" was a 4yr old National measurment......and shown again as a 7yr old and measured)

I think a lot depends on bloodlines and how they grow; I find that my stallions and mares produce tend to grow quickly and then stop; of course I feed the heck out of my babies too; seldom to I have one grow much more than 1" past their yearling age.....sometimes no more.

Yes, Erica has hit the nail on the head.....different bloodlines mature at different rates...I had a colt by Rabbit who was 28" as a weaned foal and 28" as a six year old.