Worming

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ShelleyS

Reaction score
Molly has bots on when we got her so on this past Monday I wormed her. I can't remember the name of the stuff I wormed her with, but it was in packets (I have one left at home) and was sprinkled on her feed. My question is... How long after their wormed do the bots go away? I'm wondering if she needs wormed again or if there's something I can do specifically for the bots.

I have never used a dry wormer in a package before -- what was it?

I personally use IVERMECTIN on my minis for bots -- During Bot Season I deworm my minis monthly (I choose to doubledose them each time as well) -- and one month beyond -- also --- I try to remove the bot eggs off their bodies -- using scissors or a bot knife -- I am not always successful in removing them all.

I am not a veterinarian -- I am an owner of 12 minis --- You might check with your vet as to what he/she recommends for yours.

JJay

It sounds like you are referring to the little yellow bot eggs. Those are not going away with de-worming. The de-worming will only take care of those inside (& also biting lice, just FYI...added: can be helpful, depending on when given & amount of investation
wacko.gif
))

Those little yellow eggs should be removed as they hatch, are ingested sometimes and then become a worm infestation inside. These are reasons why de-worming is important on a regular and continuing basis to control parasites that can be continually picked up by the horse.