What would you do?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SampleMM

Reaction score
Okay, here's my situation. I am fairly new to the miniature horse world. I bought my first one in 2006 but I have had Quarter Horses for over 20 years. Anyhoo, I have a beautiful 27" buckskin mare that will be two in March. I really think she could kick some major butt in the 28" and under mare class but here's my conundrum. Chances are this mare will never be breed so there will be no resulting foals to advertise "out of World Champion" blah, blah, blah. Also, I bought her so she doesn't carry my farm name. I have a trainer that would like to campaign her but am I just throwing money away? I have to really consider if this is a good business move. Does anybody have an opinion? I'd love to hear it!!
default_saludando.gif

When you campaign and win with this little mare, YOUR name will be called as the owner of the horse. That in itself is advertising for your farm/ranch.

If not breeding horses at all and just for fun! How much fun can you have with a WINNER! LOTS....

Just take her out to one show and get her qualified for World. Keep her in shape and take her to World Show and clean up
default_smile.png
Not so much money that way.......

B

Last edited by a moderator:
I think it comes down to how much money you can afford to spend, and how much you want to spend on showing when it is just for fun, and not for specifically promoting a breeding program.