Well, I started building my shelter...

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phoebeq

Reaction score
So, I really was trying to avoid spending any money on a temp shelter. We will be building a larger, permanent one in the nearish future, but for now, I just made a small one that would keep the snow off of them and block the wind.

I only had 3 sheets of plywood, so I will have to go buy one more to finish the roof. I also need to figure out a way to support the roof...if anyone has any suggestions, feel free to share. I am not very good at this sort of thing and this is the first time I have built ANYTHING...

Anyway, here is my ugly shelter...I am actually kind of embarassed, lol. BUT, I am by myself and we can't spend the extra money to pay someone to build anything right now, since we will be drilling a new well and fixing our heating issue...

Batman checking things out.

180376_10150089303600382_575500381_6441003_1840569_n.jpg

I got inside of it, and it really does a good job blocking the wind.

180096_10150089303915382_575500381_6441013_3878969_n.jpg

I attached that back side to the wire fencing panel with hopes that it might help to hold it in place in windy weather. I also attached a 4x4 to the bottom of each side to help hold it in place.

182916_10150089304840382_575500381_6441027_1521523_n.jpg

Like I said, it isn't completely finished. I have to get the plywood to finish the roof and I have to put some tin or a tarp over the roof to keep it dry.

Any suggestions would be great! Please be nice though, lol. I know I am terrible at this type of thing.
default_biggrin.png