Weaning and Worming

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nickysminis

Reaction score
Hi

This year i have my first homebred foal (unplanned, but very much loved!
default_wub.png
), but because i'm a novice in breeding I have a few questions

Weaning - i know most of you start weaning at about 4-6 months, but what is the latest you have weaned.

I have a 4 month old foal which i am in no rush to wean (both he and mum are still both looking very well) and i was wondering how long i can leave him with mum before it becomes a problem ( he will be getting gelded, so this wont be an issue)

I am unable to seperate my mare and foal out of earshot from each other as i only have one field which is fenced off into paddocks. what is the best way to wean using this setup.

Worming - Following advice from my local wormer stockist i have not yet wormed my foal, but i now think he really should be wormed. Which wormer should i use/is safe to use for a foal

Thank you in advance for your advice

Nicky

Any wormer you use on the others is fine, just in proper dose.

I've seen 4yo "foals" that haven't been weaned. 3-6mo is normal. Be aware you may not be able to reintroduce them for a long time. I've seen 4+yo weaned horses "unwean" when put with their mother again.

While out of earshot is best, its not usually practical, so don't stress too much about it as long as they are fully separated. If possible, make sure they are out of sight of each other.

You can geld him at any time, but if he's with mares (even his mother) he will need to be cut before 9mo.

Definitely worm him. I worm all mine beginning at 1 month old. Different people will tell you different wormers to use. But I always just worm my foals with whatever wormer the mares are getting.