Spots...?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MtnShadowsFarm

Reaction score
This is the butt of my Orion grandson. He was born totally solid bay. I clipped him a few days ago (age 6 weeks) and this is what I found..ONE and ONLY ONE...SPOT!!!! :aktion033: So, I'm HOPING I can consider this an "appy spot" ?????? His dam is solid, but his sire..Brewers Orion Image...of course carries pintaloosa.

Is there any way to tell if from this if it's appy or pinto or...?

spotsmall.jpg

He's gotta cute butt
default_wink.png
:

I'm not an expert, but to me, this looks similar to what I can find on my two pinto (with sabino roan) horses. My hunch is that it is a sabino type spot, but again, I am not an authority on pinto and appy markings.

Probably you'll get some additional input from others
default_yes.gif
:

Now, come on!!!

You cannot "carry" Pintaloosa, the animal either is, is not, or has characteristics!!!

Those sort of patches are very very common and have nothing to do with Appy or even Pinto (unless you count Sabino in the most minimal as Pinto, which I do not)

I have had patches like that on animals with NO Pinto or Appy background at all.

So, No, I am sorry but, in the absence of striped hooves, spotted genitalia, white Sclera round the eyes, etc, No, those are not Appy spots, not even Minimal.
default_smile.png