Showing AMHR as an amateur

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cat_in_the_hat72

Reaction score
Considering I am completely new to showing I am so lost. I sent in to get my amateur card but one thing I'm still not sure of. I know to enter amatuer classes you must have a card but are those the only classes you can enter? The only class not listed as an amateur class that I'd be interested in is the liberty class. Can anyone help clear this up for me?

Thanks

Brenda

Hi Brenda,

Having an amateur card in no way limits you to only amateur classes. You may still show in any open class. As long as the class is not listed as "youth", you should be safe. Liberty is an open class so you can still show in it as an amateur. I hope this helps!

Tammy

Thank you Tammy. That's exactly the info I was looking for. I really don't want to over do it and enter too many classes but want to experience it all. Just didn't want to limit my options if it wasn't necissary.

Thanks

Brenda

Do you HAVE to have an ameteur card if you've never shown before??? I have never shown before, this year will be my first..I didn't know that we have to have an ameteur card???

You only need an amateur card if you plan to show in amateur classes, regardless of how long you've been showing.