Random Pony Tips for a Total Newbie

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Koko

Reaction score
So, there's this Shetland i'm interested in as a pony for me and my little cousins. She's pretty young, totally kid-proof, not too expensive, sounds like after her training is totally finished (just going off-leadline, i've already got my friend to agree to help me and I think i'll convince my little cousin into it.) she'd make the perfect begginer horse, blah blah blah.
default_wub.png
:

But anyways, i've gotten the feeling my stacks of horse books just aren't going to be telling me all those strange little secrets of the horse world
default_wacko.png
: , so I thought i'd better ask. There. Rant done.

First of all there is no such thing as Kid proof or bomb proof. The minute you believe that is when you will get into trouble. For sure some horses are good with kids. Some horses are really great riding horses. BUT every horse will spook at something. Sometimes you get lucky and dont find it for years. Or it could happen the very next time you ride.

Whenever someone tells me they have a bomb proof horse I always reply that you just havent come across the right bomb yet LOL.

Shetland ponies are very smart and you have to always be the one in charge or they will take full advantage of you and your kids.

For example our shetland patches is broke to ride and drive. But she instantly knows when an inexperienced person is on her back or in the cart and she takes full advantage of it! Now put an experienced person on her and she is right as rain.

Patches is one of our most beloved horses on the farm and has the most personality of any pony i have known. But I know that I have to always be one step ahead of her. She takes FULL advantage of my husband because she knows hes not as comfortable around her.