pregnant or not?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kimlucky13

Reaction score
i have a 5 year old mare who I recently purchased. She has an 8 month old filly and I was told that she had been bred back (which I'm not 100% clear on). According to the women I purchased her from she was bred July 8/9 of 2007 which would make her due June 15 give or take. My problem is that I am new to the horse world and babies and I'm not sure what to expect. At one point I think she is pregnant and at other times I'm not sure. I tried listening for a heartbeat but I'm not sure where to listen and what to listen for. I also did this while she was eating so there were several sounds going on in there. I can't tell by her bag, because her filly is still with her and occassionally trying to nurse (which mamma is putting a halt to) so i'm a little confused. Is there any way of knowing this without a vet call or do I just wait and see if I end up with a baby in June? I had the vet out earlier for a case of colic with the filly, and told him I was told she was pregnant, he glanced at her and said she looked healthy. My sister in law says she is getting fatter, but I can't tell, with the winter coats and the fact that I see her twice a day, she looks the same to me. Any pointers on figuring this out or is it just a waiting game?

Well, number one, you need to wean the filly from her side. That is added strain on a mare that is still trying to produce milk and trying, if she is pregnant to grow a baby.

I would have the vet out and confirm that she is in foal. This expense will more than pay for itself. If you are a first time owner and have never experienced a birthing, it would be better to know, than not. This way you can have an idea as to when she is due and if she is open you won't lose any sleep.