Pacing new mom and hungry foal

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AJ

Reaction score
A maiden mare ( age 5 yr) foaled 3 days ago and all went well. Developed bag, wax, full term, attended birth, nursed within hour, maconium within hour, ate and slept in typical foal fashion. She has started pacing in her stall and the foal is trying to nurse too often and getting rough as I don't think there is suffiecent milk. Is she not producing or just not letting it down, due to being stressed by something? Is she not eating/drinking enough due to stress? The foal is healthy and active. Would oxytocin help/hurt at this time. The milk appears normal so I don't think it is mastitis, although I have no experience with it. Any suggestions will be appreciated .

In my years of large horse experience, foals start that "punching bag" syndrome when they get the hang of nursing and while they wait for the milk to be let down. Also at this point, the mom's nipples are usually sore and still "breaking in" to nursing. Once the soreness gets better, she will let her milk down faster. But sore nipples create an uptight mom who tightens and grimaces every time that foal nurses, not to mention her uterus still contracts from the nursing as well. Foals nurse all the time so I am sure she has an adequate milk supply and a strong healthy foal should keep her bag drained most of the time. You might want to give her some Banamine to ease any soreness for the next day or two until things settle down. Only you can answer if she is eating and drinking enough, but again, Banamine will help her relax and feel better.