OK, don't shoot me

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Roxane Martin

Reaction score
OK, I'm rather new to driving minis--I have a metal easy entry cart. Because I'm not that bodily flexible, and they weigh less, I thought it safer/easier for me to enter/exit the cart (I harness and drive alone) to use that type rather than a Meadowbrook. I only have available yards, rocky fields and gravel driveways for driving, no arenas. Mini is B-sized.

1. One complaint I have heard about easy entry carts is that they are easy for the driver to be thrown out of them. In some ways that might be a good thing, but would it be smart or stupid to then use a seat belt? The seats are a bit slippery and I could see that it would be easy to slide out unintentionally.

2. Since my cart has those wire wheels, is it hard to put on solid wooden wheels which would withstand the punishment of the rocky roads rather than the pneumatic tires?

3. Suggestions for conditioning a "soft" mini in the Northeast US, which are stabled in a run-in type situation (so left unclipped in winter). Would like to be able to do 10+ mile trail drives, but can't really start driving until April. Summer this year was brutal in 90s and high humidity.

There is much useful information on this forum, for which I am appreciative.

Thanks.

Roxane Martin