Nutrena Safe choice

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MBhorses

Reaction score
who has use nutrena safe choice why or not?

our vet is wanting us to feed safe choice and no more sweet feed or oats.our vet said the safe choice is great.

Last edited by a moderator:
I feed it to all my horses.Been feeding it for 3 years now and my horses look great and have good weight.there hooves look much better to and coats shine all the time.It takes feeding it for awile to see the differents.but yes I love the feed. :aktion033:

I fed it for a while and was very pleased I am now feeding the Nutrena Sr to everyone (wanted to get down to one or 2 feeds instead of 3 or 4 different ones) and XTN to my hard keepers

I've been feeding Safe Choice for about 3 yrs now too. It's a great all around feed. Everyone here gets the same thing just different amounts depending on the horse. If you use it....do NOT add anything extra like oats or barley. That takes away from the balance of the Safe Choice. That came straight from the REP.

The only downside I've ever had is a couple of batches have been different. The smell and color were both different. They figured out that one ingredient had been left out.

Use it, love it, and recommend it. It's very comparable to Stragedy except Safe Choice has more vitamins and minerals (so you can leave out the supplements!).

I think it is an excellent feed for minis....mine look great! Mary

thanks everyone,

what else do you feed with safe choice? do you give alfafa hay or oats with the feed?

right now we give alfafa hay, oats, sweet feed for their feed. I was looking into safe choice per our vet.we give them hay and grass(what grass we have) as well.

We've been feeding it since about November and we LOVE IT!!! All of our horses get it and it really gives us piece if mind. :aktion033: