Now I get it. . .

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flying minis

Reaction score
I am new to minis, and have read with interest all the discussions regarding shetland influence, especially in the minis. But I've never really seen what people were talking about - probably because of the shows I go to, and in my area, the shetland influence is minimal. But I went to Nationals to watch, and I have to say - now I get it. I was watching an over halter class, and thought to myself - they're all mini saddlebreds. Now don't get me wrong, I love saddlebreds, and I love Shetlands, but part of the reason I moved out of Arabs years ago is that the Arabs (and Morgans) decided that action was needed above all and started to move toward the saddlebred "look" and action. Now I see how it is happening with the minis. When the champions lined up Friday night, it was really obvious where the breed is going. . . whether for good or bad.

I'm not taking anything away from horses who won - were they quality animals? Obviously. But Friday night, aside from the gelding, it would have been hard to know whether the champion lineup was from a mini show or a pony show.

If you had one of the champions, I'm not by any means saying your horse did not deserve to be there - just that it was definately a glimpse into the future of the breed, at least in the way it is progressing right now.

I just wanted to mention that for the past few years (5-10+) most of the "Grand Champion" horses at Nationals, especially in the over division, have been ASPC/AMHR or at least have ASPC breeding. This trend has been slowly coming for many years. And I don't think the judges are looking at the horses' pedigrees, but rather the quality of the animal in front of them.