NOOK for Christmas

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Riverrose28

Reaction score
Hope you guys can answer some questions for me. My girls got me a touch reader by NOOK for Christmas. I only get dial up down here in the boonies, but do get cell service. My youngest daughter has a smart phone that is wi fi, and she can use it down here, so she says I should be able to get the wi fi for the nook. Do you think so? Also I got online and see that the book purchases are reasonable for .99 and up, problem is I don't have any credit cards, can I use my bank card with them?

Sorry, I'm a tech dummy.

I can't answer for sure on the Wi Fi, but it seems to me that everything now days can work with it. I live one block too far into the boonies to receive anything other then dial-up, but my cell phone company carries some kind of device that would give me internet in the house via a little box that I would have to hook my computer into and what not. I was going to do it, but I found a company that does "tower internet". As long as the small dish on my house can receive signal from the tower, I'm good to go. Plus it only costs $40 a month for unlimited internet, versus the limited I would have recieved from my cell phone company for a higher price.

If you have a bank card that is a "visa" (doesn't require a pin number to use), you can use your bank card anywhere credit cards are accepted.

Thanks Sara, I think that when the weather breaks, it awful right now, that I going to take it to the Barnes & Noble store ans ask about activation. My gosh there were 174 pages of terms!