No appy in Shetlands?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Firefall

Reaction score
I had a friend telling me that researchers are finding out that there are appy type genes/markings being found in shetlands. They're realizing that they have been there all along?

Maybe this really isn't true but hear say, however I have always wondered why Shetlands can't have appy coloring??????

What if for some fluke that one had appy spots would its papers be taken away?

I am not a pony expert but it is my understanding that they will not register a appy as a ASPC pony

Page 171 (breed standard for classic shetlands) and page 116 (breed standard for modern shetlands) of the rulebook :

Shetlands may be of any color, either solid or mixed, except appaloosa. No particular color is preferred, no discrmination should be made becasue of the color of eyes, such as glass, watch, hazel or blue.

Appy has been prohibited in ASPC Shetlands as well as UK Shetlands since the beginning of both registries. If it is showing up (and not a case of unfortunately placed sabino markings) then it has been added to the gene pool........

I would assume that the reasoning is that Appy spots do not exist on the Shetland islands and also do not exist in any of the breeds that were accepted as outcrosses for the ASPC (Hackney, Welsh, Harness Show Pony, Americana).

Last edited by a moderator:
I had a friend telling me that researchers are finding out that there are appy type genes/markings being found in shetlands. They're realizing that they have been there all along?
Maybe this really isn't true but hear say, however I have always wondered why Shetlands can't have appy coloring??????

What if for some fluke that one had appy spots would its papers be taken away?

Would like to know about your friend's "researchers".