Newbies-Dystocia 101

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wcr

Reaction score
Did you ever play the kids game where you stick your hand in a box and feel around and try to identify what you are feeling? Sometimes it was hard and sometimes it was kind of squishy? Welcome to dystocia 101.

We are hearing on a daily basis "we had a dystocia" and until you have one yourself it is kind of a nebulous term. Hopefully you don't find out in the middle of the night, no vet available, no help in sight and a mare in distress. Even for experienced breeders it is the worst feeling in the world to realize it is up to you to do something and for a beginner a terrifying experience. I know many on this forum live where it is difficult to even get a vet to come out or the vets available are less the optimal. I am not an expert or a vet but have been there done that and invite anyone to chime in with their experiences. This year we have many newbies that really want to learn and are asking reasonable questions and I don't ever remember this topic coming up.

Okay, we got a problem and I have to stick my hand where? What the heck am I supposed to be feeling? First is the pelvic ring, hard and doesn't move. If you have a foal body part in it getting one hand in is difficult. Add to this the mare is having contractions and your hand is getting bruised and the blood supply is getting cut off and your fingers are getting numb.

No body part in there so you get your hand in there and with the tip of your finger can feel something. What is it? Is it the top of the head, the crook of the knee bent back, a tiny rear end or just something you can't identify? Take the time to teach yourself anatomy by braile as this is the starting point to resolving any dystocia.