Looked at a mare the other day... too wild for me

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CrazyWestTexasFarmGirl

Reaction score
So I am searching for a companion for my little colt for when he weans and is delivered to us.

I am fairly new to having horses of my own... so looking for a nice calm gentle companion for him.

I went to look at a little mare the other day that has just stuck in my mind.

She wasnt used to being handled, head shy, didnt like being touched, she would lead once a lead rope was on her, but she coudlnt be approached and a lead rope put on her. She spooked really easily.

Totally not what a need.

But I cant get her out of my mind. She would spook and run to a corner of the pen and face away from me and then look back ears up over her shoulder and make eye contact. Like she WANTED to be able to connect and be with you, but she was too scared.

I turned her down....

But I cant get her out of my mind now and I'm sad.

default_sad.png

cmhr has several horses for adoption that would fit your bill perfectly as a companion to your colt.

I dont think the mare was handled much.... or someone was mean to her at some time in her life.. She led around the place ok, but had no manners and

She was soo spooky and hand shy and flinched away from every move and would panic and try to get away if something scared her.

I have about two months before my little guy comes home I think maybe 3.

I was tempted to take a chance with her..... but I just dont think I have the experience for it.

Im being very careful not to jump into anything too soon and get overwhelmed... the colt wasnt actually a planned happening... he was a suprise gift.

I am hoping to find one that I really click with that wont teach levi bad habits.

I may be being too particular.... but I want the guys to fit well with us long term, not