Info For A Novice???

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zoey3

Reaction score
Any info you can give me would be great! Showing info, general care info, ect. I have lots of experience with horses and currently have a mini horse colt. I think he needs a friend and I have always wanted a mini donkey!

Thanks!!!
default_laugh.png

default_no.gif
Probably not getting one now...why will one help me?
default_unsure.png

I recieved lots of help on the Mini Horse Forum.
default_yes.gif

Hi, Zoey!
default_saludando.gif
I hope you won't rule out getting a mini donkey - especially if you have always wanted one
default_wub.png
I have no experience with mini horses, but I know some on here have both mini horses & mini donkeys, so hopefully someone will chime in about how they are for companions to each other, etc.

I live in Missouri and our State Fair has a whole day (almost) devoted to donkeys & mules of all sizes. At least around here there are some showing opportunities for them periodically. As for general care, they are definitely easy keepers & can easily get overweight and develop a crest on their necks if overfed. They need to be wormed every 2 months, and hooves must be trimmed VERY regularly. That's all that comes to mind now -

Oh yes, they do take LOTS of spoiling too
default_wub.png

All I can say is I love my two little jennets and can't imagine life without them - and also I'll never regret that I got TWO so they have each other for buddies
default_wub.png
:wub Good luck with your decision, and let us know if you decide to get a little donk!!
default_wink.png

Thanks for replying!
default_aktion033.gif

What kind of feed do they eat? My mini horse eats Omelene 200(16% protein) plus coastal hay and some grass.

Last edited by a moderator: