Importing miniature horses

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yvonne_89

Reaction score
Have been window shopping on different breeder’s websites and should not have done so as I’m more in love with this breed than ever…

Have been a fan of this breed since I found out about it a few years ago, and would very much be a breeder of this breed one day in Norway (but that dream has to wait a few more years). My plan is not to buy a miniature “today”, but if I find a perfect miniature or two I might consider it.

But before I even do consider importing a horse I need to get a better understanding of it as I have never done so before. Do not want to hurry with this and have all time in world.
default_yes.gif

So my questions are:

Is there one of you guys who have sent horses to Norway/ Scandinavia before?

Does someone know how much it would cost to import an American miniature horse from US or the UK to Norway?

Would it be cheaper to import several at the time or one by one?

Thanks!

I have exported to Belgium and Sweden, but don't know what it costs. The part I do know is you should either buy a few or buy and ship with someone else as they charge by the container. After choosing your horses, they need to go to a quarantine facility here in the US for the amount of time required by your country.

Probably the best way to get current information would be to contact the quarantine farms and they might have an idea of cost, and know how many horses fit into a container. The only one I have dealt with is Shortview and have nothing but good things to say about them.